top of page
Search
  • Charlie Bagin

The Most Important Blog Yet...


Hello everyone, we are back with the most important blog of the trip: our ice cream review! As you all know, one of our greatest joys on the trip was indulging in ice cream whenever we wanted to. The opportunity to eat dessert everyday without guilt doesn’t come along all that often, so we took full advantage. By our count, we consumed ice cream in some form around 50 times. That includes Ben and Jerry’s pints we bought at a gas station, the fancy flight of 10 scoops from Jeni’s (a serious contender for the top slot), and everything in between. We’ve decided to each rank our top 10 independently and give some commentary here. One thing to keep in mind; the ice cream experience was weighted almost the same as the ice cream itself in our minds. On a trip full of delicious treats, the entire experience really needed to stand out in order to make this list. Without further ado…


Charlie’s Top 10:


10. Two Cows Creamery, Hot Springs, SD - Day 38

We’ve decided to go “worst” to first here, for suspense’s sake. Two Cows Creamery was our first stop in the Black Hills. It was a hot day, and at this point we were riding a high. We had just entered South Dakota! What a milestone. Of course, we had to celebrate. This was a special enough visit to make the list because we weren’t the only ones celebrating - the server, and owner of the shop, was celebrating her birthday! She even baked her own birthday cake and served slices for free to her customers. I remember the ice cream being very tasty, so much so that I went back for seconds. Now, getting seconds isn’t always the prime indicator of top-notch ice cream, since we are ice cream fiends, but in this case it was warranted due to the quality. I can’t seem to remember the flavors I got, which you will notice to be a theme for my list (Maddie was much more diligent about noting flavors than I). Nonetheless, I remember being extremely satisfied and happy as we continued on with our ride that day.


9. Big Dipper, Missoula, MT - Day 56

Maddie and I have debated whether the Big Dipper should be eligible for this list, because we never actually made it to their storefront. However, we did eat their ice cream, and the experience was memorable, so I have decided to slot it in towards the bottom of my rankings. First for the story leading up to the eating; Mark, our host in Missoula, drove us to get ice cream the night we arrived. Originally he was trying to take us to a different ice cream shop. We circled the parking lot for a while, the car rolling over the curbs on every turn because the road was narrow. It ultimately took us about 15 minutes to find a spot When we arrived, the line was out the door and down the block. Frustration was running on high, so we audible and drove to a local market that sold Big Dipper’s Ice Cream. By the time we made it to the market, they were closed for the evening. Luckily the owner was still inside cleaning up, so she let us slip in to buy some pints. After all that effort, not to mention a brutal day on the bikes, the ice cream tasted amazing. Their cardamom flavor was one of the most memorable of the trip for me as well.


8. Tom and Wally’s, Omaha, NE - Day 31

You know, I probably have the least to say about this place. I just remember it to be really high quality ice cream (Maddie’s vegan banana ice cream still appears in my dreams on occasion) that came at the end of a long day. We had just entered Nebraska, which was a huge milestone, at least in my mind. By reaching Nebraska we had escaped the midwest and were just a day from the Cowboy Trail, which was a ride I had been looking forward to since I watched a YouTube video about it back in January. The Old Market, the locale of Tom and Wally’s, was quaint; Maddie and I enjoyed walking around while we waited for Paul to pick us up. The whole experience was just really nice, but not necessarily special, which is why Tom and Wally’s just cracks the top 10.



7. Leone’s Creamery, Spearfish, SD - Day 41

Leone’s was another place where I returned for a second serving. Maddie and I just had one of our greatest rides of the trip, traversing the Mickelson Trail and then flying down Spearfish Canyon to end the ride. Maddie picked up a flat at the very end of the ride, though fortunately a very kind couple picked us up and drove us to the local bike shop. It was a beautiful day, so after Maddie’s bike was fixed we strolled down main street for our favorite snack. If I recall correctly, I went with an avocado flavor and a lemon flavor, which were delicious. Then our host, Kyle, came to join us, so I had to get another serving so he wouldn’t eat alone. I went with some sort of sundae on the second go-round. The ice cream was yummy, the flavors unique, and Spearfish was a really cute town. Just an ideal ice cream experience.


6. Genuine Ice Cream Co, Bozeman, MT - Day 51

Right off the bat, Genuine took the cake on “most interesting ice cream flavors.” Mexican hot chocolate, sweet corn, cardamom and banana peanut butter were all options. It was also just delicious ice cream, period. On top of all that, it capped off one of our most fun nights of the trip, which began with a delicious dinner at Revelry, and included another stop for ice cream in between. Sweet Peaks, the other ice cream stop that night, fell just outside of my top 10. It was good, but I just chose the wrong flavors there. One of the ice cream stops of the night had to make the list, and Genuine’s combination of flavors, quality, and vibes were enough to bump it to #6 here.


5. Blair’s Homemade Ice Cream, Richmond, IN - Day 16

This is the most unique ice cream experience on the list. Blair, our host in Richmond, IN, is a budding chef. For breakfast he prepared a mouth watering omelette with goat cheese and chives, cooked in duck fat. Afterwards he offered us some “breakfast ice cream.” A homemade mint chocolate chip and clove concoction. It was delicious, it was refreshing, it was the perfect breakfast ice cream flavor, and most importantly, it introduced the concept of the breakfast ice cream to us; when you’re on a bike tour, all of a sudden, it is acceptable to eat ice cream at any time of day. This epiphany was vital in leading towards added joy throughout the rest of our trip.


4. TurtleTown, Hill City, SD - Day 40

I’m surprised to find TurtleTown here at #4, and I made these rankings! I think it’s important to note that throughout the whole trip I opted for turtle sundaes when I had the chance. Vanilla ice cream with chocolate and caramel sauce and pecans - the perfect sundae, in my opinion. So at TurtleTown, naturally I went with a turtle sundae. It was made in layers, almost like a parfait, with a strong topping-to-ice cream ratio. I finished my sundae before the other members of our group even received theirs, it was that good. We also went with Jamie and Abby and Ryan, which was such a fun group. We had just spent an hour at Abby and Ryan’s house after a barbecue and there were a lot of good vibes all around. If we had walked into TurtleTown on our own and just ordered two scoops of ice cream, I doubt it reaches #4 on the list. Just thinking about that sundae gets my mouth watering though, which is why it was able to ascend so high in my rankings.


The three below are in a tier of their own. Call this the “reason to return” tier. If I’m ever in these areas again, you bet I’m making a point to return for their ice cream.


3. Sundae’s, Indianapolis, IN - Day 18

We spent two days in Fortville, IN at Jeff and Deidre’s place. Over that time multiple people suggested we visit Sundae’s, so of course we had to pay a visit. The second night in Fortville we were eating at Maddie’s old camp counselor’s house and he also suggested Sundae’s. The stage was set for a top-notch experience. We drove over around 9:45 at night, just 15 minutes before closing time. Sundae’s was located in a strip mall, next to a Dunkin’ Donuts and a liquor store. There was a large plastic covering over the neon sign. It was all a bit dilapidated on the outside, but on the inside it was ice cream heaven. I opted for graham central station and mocha almond fudge. One of my all time favorite flavors is the graham central station at Applegates in Montclair, NJ, which was my OG ice cream place from wayyy back. I’d never seen graham central station before, so I had to get it. Sundae’s graham central topped the original, it was that good. Maddie and I sat outside on one of the warmer evenings of the trip up to that point and enjoyed our ice cream. After a rest day we were relaxed, content, and ready to take on the last couple long rides before we reached Chicago.


2. Molly Moon’s, Seattle, WA - Day 65

Molly Moon’s did something that no other ice cream shop has ever done before - enticed me into ordering “cookie dough”. Usually I am anti-cookie dough. To me, it is almost a more vanilla selection than vanilla itself. However, this cookie dough was different, as it was a cinnamon based cookie dough with cookie dough chunks and little pieces of chocolate. I also got a honey lavender flavor which was light and tasty. Now, this second place ranking comes with a bit of an asterisk. Our first visit was with Doug on the night we arrived in Seattle (which was a very happy night - just a few more days until we hit the coast!). We then returned to Molly Moon’s with my parents after the ride ended. That was an awesome night as well; I will never forget cracking up after my mom told us we could try the mint chip when she got down to it at the bottom of the cone, then ate the whole thing herself! AND wouldn’t stop talking about how it was the greatest mint chip she’d ever had. If we didn’t have that return visit I’m not sure it would have landed this high. But the return visit confirmed my feelings, and cemented Molly Moon’s at #2.


1. Jeni’s, Columbus, OH - Day 14

Jeni’s. Since we had it we’ve been telling everyone who cares to listen that Jeni’s is the best ice cream of the trip. At some point the ranking may have become so ingrained that no other place really had a fair shot to claim the top spot. And that’s okay, because Jeni’s is truly that good. To set the scene, it was Maddie’s birthday, and we were having a great evening in Columbus with Sam and Eli. It was a Friday night; the Ohio State students were out in the streets, a vagabond that Sam recognized as a local regular stood on the corner playing his clarinet. It was a lively and exciting night, and we were riding a high after a solid riding day and a nice break shooting around at a local park. Originally we were going to some other ice cream spot, but Sam and Eli mentioned Jeni’s was classic Columbus, so we wanted to go with the true local delight. Jeni’s has an overwhelming number of enticing flavors: gooey butter cake, brambleberry crisp, brown butter almond brittle, frose, and chocolate peanut butter, to name a few. When we spotted the option to get a “flight,” we knew there was no other choice. It was Maddie’s birthday, after all. They chose the 10 flavors for us, ensuring that our only concern was enjoying the delicious dessert. Each flavor was better than the last, and the ice cream quality was top-tier. Everything about the experience was just superb, and that’s why it takes the top spot here.


Honorable Mention:

I felt I had to give an honorable mention to both The Bent Spoon in Princeton, and Dairy Queen, located across the country. I did have Bent Spoon on the night we stayed in Princeton, but I can’t even remember what I ordered or what I thought, because I’ve been so often and know I love Bent Spoon. So if I was ranking all ice cream I’ve ever had, The Bent Spoon might be number 1 here, but as far as ice cream experiences specifically on this trip, it doesn't make the list. Then, of course, we have Dairy Queen, which picked up our spirits when they were sinking more than once along the trip. Their toppings-to-ice cream ratio is hit or miss, and it’s not the greatest quality , which is why it doesn’t make my top 10, but I will always have a soft spot for Dairy Queen.


Maddie’s Top 10


10. TurtleTown, Hill City, SD - Day 40

The Black Hills included rides for the books: extreme hills, low mileage, and the most memorable of sunny days. We arrived in Hill City around 2PM, very early compared to other days. Lucky for us, our early arrival at Jeremy and Jamie’s meant hopping in the last day of school wiffle ball game. After showing off our incredible athleticism, hanging out at Abby’s (a local Christian group leader) house, and chatting with the kids from Hill City, we asked if there were any ice cream shops in town. We were swiftly carried to TurtleTown with only the adults. TurtleTown and the town of Hill City gave slightly touristy vibes, which we had become used to throughout the Black Hills. We were surrounded by fudge, truffles, candy, and ice cream, and Abby told us she would treat us to whatever we like so go big or go home! I went with a caramel brownie sundae, as Charlie said, the topping to ice cream ratio was impeccable with warm caramel and brownie pieces creating three different layers of ice cream goodness. I would have rated this experience higher if I had not felt nauseous and overwhelmed with the sugar in this concoction. I believe that that day was the only day I felt gross after eating ice cream, quite an impressive feat given that we must have consumed ice cream 50 out of the 68 days of the trip.


9. Dairy Queen, All over - Many times

Dairy Queen was my rock along this journey, even more supportive than Charlie at some times. A good ole’ blizzard is and was a hug for my soul, and the massive DQ logo would always pop up exactly when we needed it most. Our DQ admiration began on our way to Wheeling, WV; it was the most magnificent sunny day and also the first of many times I said or thought, “This is the reason I wanted to go on this bike trip.” We biked through the drive-thru and got large blizzards that we ate on the stairs outside of the storefront. They provided smiles and renewed energy to finish our ride given that we were still in the utterly exhausted phase of our journey. We proceeded to eat DQ four more times on our way to the Pacific Ocean. I discovered the Frosted Animal Cracker blizzard, which I fell in love with and confirmed my “child-like” flavor preferences. I very much disagree with Charlie’s comment about the inconsistency of DQ’s quality; the beauty of DQ is its constant and reliable slightly-above-average quality and flavor. We may have tasted better scoops along the way, but the memories associated with all of our DQ excursions made it Top 10 material.


8. Hayman’s Dari Bar, Hebron, OH - Day 14

This rating is a HOT TAKE! I have always been a fan of humble, window-serve ice cream stands since I was raised on King Kone, a Westchester County classic. Everyone knows that King Kone is the summer hot spot with cars parked up and down the road to order scoops. As we rode through Middle-of-Nowhere, Ohio, it was the prime spot for a local dining landmark. When I spotted Hayman’s Dari Bar, my bike unconsciously halted (likely because this was early in the trip and I thought all ice cream was worth stopping for). Charlie and I ordered ice cream classics, a vanilla malt milkshake and a cherry dipped vanilla soft serve respectively. So, why is this a hot take? Charlie, in his ceaseless hunger, ordered a shredded chicken sandwich, which may have been the most disgusting sandwich either of us have ever seen and tasted. With the disgust came a hilarious memory and significant ice cream experience.


7. Ted and Wally’s, Omaha, NE - Day 31

As Charlie said, we had just entered Nebraska from Iowa after crossing the beautiful Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge. We rode through the Old Market with only ice cream in mind. We strolled into Ted and Wally’s and found an old-school interior with neon lights and booths. I got vegan banana chocolate chip cookie and pistachio caramel latte flavors, which were both really enjoyable. Charlie and I both felt great at the moment as well. I was happy to make it to a city, and Omaha was a lot nicer than I thought it would be. For some reason, I can’t expand upon what made this experience Top 10 worthy besides how fondly I look back on that afternoon.


6. Sweet Peaks, Bozeman, MT - Day 51

Bozeman treated us very well, or maybe we just treated ourselves splendidly well. Our excitement was at a trip high with Yellowstone, our most discussed stop, the following day. We feasted upon pasta and pizza at Revelry after sauntering along main street. Every great night ends with ice cream, and how could we decide between two highly rated options that both had lines out the door? Sweet Peaks and Genuine were both high quality, however, only one scoop is the reason for this rating… Strawberry Rhubarb at Sweet Peaks. This scoop was fruity and rich yet refreshing; although frozen the scoop had the warmth and comfort of a piece of pie. I could not help but wish that I was the one who ordered it instead of Charlie.


5. Whistlepunk, Leavenworth, WA - Day 63

Leavenworth had to be one of the most unique towns I have ever been to. Leavenworth was transformed into a Bavarian town in the 1960s, so the architecture was unlike anything I had ever seen before. Dave, our host that evening, convinced us that Whistlepunk was worth the wait compared to the Cold Stone Creamery right down the street. I ordered a scoop of chai and a scoop of coco loco, coconut ice cream with caramel and fudge swirled in. I have a thing for caramel, and the absurdly dense amount of rich caramel within the coco loco scoop made it one of the best ice creams of the trip. The chai flavor was also the unusual twist I needed after losing interest in desserts (Could you tell?) by the state of Washington.


4. Ice Cream Café, Gillette, WY - Day 44

I apologize in advance for my opinions in this rating, but I have four words to share with you: LICORICE ICE CREAM SLAPS (slaps means it is really good). I have always loved black licorice as black licorice jelly beans and Good & Plenty are some of my favorite candies. I was shocked to find this bizarre seasonal flavor in Gillette. I will long for that flavor of the West just as Charlie will dream of huckleberry.


3. Sundae’s, Indianapolis, IN - Day 18

We had a nice yet busy rest day in Fortville where we dealt with my first few flat tire woes, bought some groceries, and saw Sturge, my sleep away camp counselor from elementary school. After hearing many praises for Sundae’s, we knew we could not leave the Indianapolis area without it. I had never heard of graham central station prior to arriving at Sundae’s but at Charlie’s recommendation, I incorporated it into my experience. Go big or go home, right? I dove into a caramel pretzel sundae that made for an incredible sugar high. Although the ambience of Sundae’s was below average, the flavor of the ice cream and the unparalleled satisfaction resulting from its consumption made for a delectable experience.


2. Molly Moon’s, Seattle, WA - Day 65

I had Molly Moon’s three times while in Seattle and honestly considered staying out there and may even regret coming home, now unable to indulge in the heavenly flavor and richness of their salted caramel ice cream. As I said in my Whistlepunk review, caramel is the ultimate flavor and topping, and I can confidently say this is the best salted caramel ice cream I have ever consumed. It was salty, smooth, and inviting. I not only regretted accompanying this masterpiece with other Molly Moon’s flavors, but how did I dare go to Salt & Straw in Seattle with the Bagins? This ice cream shop was an immaculately sweet end to a life changing ride.


1. Jeni’s, Columbus, OH - Day 14

Neither Charlie nor myself had ever had a flight of ice cream prior to arriving at Jeni’s. Blown away and indecisive because of all the flavor options, we felt that the flight was the only option. I have not seen much beauty superior to the ten colorful scoops that laid before us that evening. I took in every spoonful like it was my last and willingly and gleefully licked the bowl after we had finished. The brambleberry crisp and the frose sorbet were transformative. Similar yet superior to the strawberry rhubarb scoop at Sweet Peaks, the brambleberry crisp flavor was the comforting pie-like dessert that Charlie and I adored. With the light crunch from the oat streusel, the ice cream had many impressive dimensions. The frose sorbet changed my life… The pear based deliciousness with the flavor of rosé following shortly thereafter left me speechless. This day was a top day overall with the amazingness of Sam and Eli, Charlie and my quick thinking resulting in a brief and hilarious bus ride, and a fabulous birthday.


191 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A Quick PSA

We have heard from many of our followers that you all will miss having something to read in the mornings now that we’ve completed our trip. Never fear, for I have a solution! A good friend of mine, Mi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page