top of page
Search
  • Charlie Bagin

Day 5 - Not Again?! - Maddie


When we hit the road this morning, all we wanted was a bit less climbing than that of our 89 mile ride yesterday. That is not what we got. We had another day full of hills, full of quad burning (though Charlie says his quads feel nothing), and full of farmland.


Early in the ride, we chanced upon a donut joint that brought a smile to both of our faces and the opportunity for a sweet escape from the rain. I was especially pleased to hear “drivers license” on the speakers as I ordered (@TheBradyBunch). After devouring our donuts, we continued along hilly roads until we reached York.



Our stay in York extended longer than anticipated. Although we had planned to stop and see our friend, Jared (aka the GOAT), from Princeton, I got my first EVER flat tire😞 Charlie, the pro, saved the day, and we still caught up with Jared!




From there, our ride was eerily similar to that of yesterday. Up and down and up and down. Charlie has been kicking my butt up these hills, gaining a ton of ground as I slowly crawl my way up in the lowest gear. I tend to catch up with my pure joy of going down hill as fast as possible.


We reached Gettysburg with 59 miles and 2680 feet of elevation gain under our belts. We explored Gettysburg College, which happens to have a Plank Gymnasium! Who knew? We made it to our Warmshowers (app for bikers to find hosts) host for the night and got some basketball shots up with the kids next door. Of course I cooked Charlie in HORSE.


Tomorrow will be similar today with potentially more climbing☹️ It really has not been fun riding up so many hills, but Charlie has helped keep me positive and locked in! He will update you all tomorrow!


We have rode a total of 232.7 miles thus far. Thanks for reading and showing your support 💓

214 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A Quick PSA

We have heard from many of our followers that you all will miss having something to read in the mornings now that we’ve completed our trip. Never fear, for I have a solution! A good friend of mine, Mi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page