top of page
Search
  • Charlie Bagin

Day 56 - Spearfish Canyon but Add a Headwind - Maddie

Charlie talked about the greatness of Leah’s family yesterday, but I cannot help but add to the praise. Andrea, Meah, Ty, and Lane were all supportive, bright, and independent. Leah and Ty proudly showed off Andrea’s beautiful artwork. Meah and Ty worked together to make milkshakes last night; Ty admitting she was the pro. I don’t think I have ever met a Ty as cool as this little third grader, sorry Tyler😘😜. He was passionate about machinery; I found him in the morning on YouTube, learning to repair a lawnmower. Outside of making us milkshakes, he woke up early to make us bacon and eggs for breakfast. He had the sarcasm of an adult, which took me by surprise the first time he roasted me, but I was immediately impressed. Ty was so in awe of us biking that he saw us off onto the main road on his mountain bike, waving and yelling, “See you later!” We did indeed plan a “later,” in nine years upon his high school graduation, catch us bike touring the world together.


The first 25 miles of our ride along Route 200 were phenomenal, for me😁. While Charlie was weighed down with the weight of our water gallon, I sat directly behind him drafting. I coasted through the beautiful, narrow, curvy road.




Our first break was at Trixi’s Saloon in Ovando, MT. Given the lack of energy I exerted following Charlie, I was neither tired nor hungry, but Charlie needed some fuel. He went with his favorite chili-burger combination, and we shared blueberry streusel and the orchard medley pie (a la mode of course).



Montana has been the most beautiful state to ride through. Everyday we are surrounded my mountains and trees that seem to touch the sky. We continued rolling in peace, a celestial hand guiding us along a river lined path. Unfortunately all good things must come to an end. Eventually we made our way down what the locals call, “The Canyon.” The ride was gorgeous; it reminded me of a vaster Spearfish Canyon. As if we were each holding a Horcrux, our moods and my motivation to keep riding deteriorated. A strong headwind, carrying as much power as "He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named,” slowed us down. Although we rode downhill nearly the entire day, we felt weak; the wind flailing our bikes and torsos.



As the 80 mile ride came to a close, I was the crankiest I have been on this trip. I have had the most brutal saddle sores, and today no matter how much Olivia Rodrigo I listened to, I could not ignore the pain they were causing me.


We made it to Mark and Liz’s home in Missoula. We ate barbecue in their spacious yard while taking in their recently completed landscaping. We went on an adventure for ice cream, but unable to find a parking spot in Missoula’s extensive downtown, noticing a massive line at Sweet Peaks, on top of my wayward mood, we concluded pints from the market would suffice. Charlie got Mexican Chocolate, and I got Chubby Hubby!


We are resting in Missoula today, and we have some really fun activities planned! Mentally preparing for Lookout Pass, at least double the length of Flesher Pass, on the other side of Missoula. I hope everyone has a lovely weekend.


Cheers!


Maddie


Elevation Drop:



146 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A Quick PSA

We have heard from many of our followers that you all will miss having something to read in the mornings now that we’ve completed our trip. Never fear, for I have a solution! A good friend of mine, Mi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page