top of page
Search
  • Charlie Bagin

Day 9 - A Briefing - Maddie

Hi everyone. Tonight, I will keep things brief. We arrived in Pittsburgh, PA with a very warm welcome from Charlie’s extended family and their cute pup, Pearl.

The ride today was uneventful. We left the chilly campsite this morning around 9:30 and were incredibly pleased as the sun warmed and brightened the GAP Trail throughout the day. We took brief breaks until our lunch pit stop in West Newton 5 hours later. We saw a lovely court in Whitsett and could not resist getting some shots up. Charlie, who still, impressively, does not have exhausted quads, showed some sick range. Nearly making it to the end of the GAP, we had to hop off to get to Charlie’s grandmother’s house in Squirrel Hill. OF COURSE there had to be un-bike-able hills!!! So we did a little walking to our destination but made it here safely.


The best part of the ride had to be the crowded parks, barbecue smoke, and metal dings that are Little League baseball. Almost every little town we rode through had children running bases or fielding grounders. Charlie and I reflected on how much we crave normalcy and how simple times were back when we were hitting dingers in elementary and middle school.


To cap off the night, I FaceTimed my family for the first time since starting this journey. As most would expect, my parents have been “slightly” worried about me. I do not think the call tonight made them feel much better *shrugs*


Charlie and I will be sharing our lessons from Week 1 tomorrow. REST DAY BABY😍


503 miles biked

12 clementines consumed today

8 days since I last had feeling in my pinky finger (Don’t worry; I’m trying to figure it out)

.933 GAP Trails completed (oops)


236 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A Quick PSA

We have heard from many of our followers that you all will miss having something to read in the mornings now that we’ve completed our trip. Never fear, for I have a solution! A good friend of mine, Mi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page